wordle

The SHELTER project is funded by the EU programme INTERREG Italy-Austria and runs from September 2019 to March 2022 with the partners Plattform Land, the Veneto Region (LP), EURAC, the municipalities of Val di Zoldo, Valstagna and Anras.
Interreg_Italia-O¦êsterreich 2017_4c

The SHELTER project deals with the problems arising from the abandonment and the resulting decay of historic rural buildings in the Italian-Austrian border area. The vacancy, in part extensive, and the associated loss of traditional management has serious consequences for the cultural landscape.

SHELTER considers the preservation of the built heritage as an integral part of the development of the mountain landscape: Concepts for the sustainable use and restoration of empty historical example buildings are developed. For this purpose, results of previous EU research projects as well as a broad experience in the network of project partners and associated partners can be drawn upon. SHELTER will present new concepts for the use of the historical buildings, which support local development and fit into existing association and production activities. Furthermore, the buildings will be integrated as cultural landmarks into the network of already existing hiking and cycling paths.

SHELTER actively involves local residents through a participatory process. In this way, a redevelopment guideline with technical solutions and a series of indicators for the preservation of the cultural heritage will be defined on a cross-border basis. The results will be disseminated to the local authorities and local companies in workshops.

This post is also available in: German, Italian

wordle

Das Projekt SHELTER wird im Rahmen des EU-Programm INTERREG Italien-Österreich gefördert und läuft von September 2019 bis März 2022. Projektpartner sind neben der Plattform Land die Region Venetien (LP), die EURAC, die Gemeinden Val di Zoldo, Valstagna und Anras.Interreg_Italia-O¦êsterreich 2017_4c

Das Projekt SHELTER befasst sich mit den Problemen, die sich aus der Aufgabe und dem damit einhergehenden Verfall historischer ländlicher Gebäude im italienisch-österreichischen Grenzgebiet ergeben. Der zum Teil großflächige Leerstand und der damit verbundene Wegfall der traditionellen Bewirtschaftung hat ernsthafte Konsequenzen für die Kulturlandschaft.

SHELTER betrachtet die Erhaltung des gebauten Erbes als integralen Bestandteil der Entwicklung der Berglandschaft: Es werden Konzepte zur nachhaltigen Nutzung und Sanierung leerstehender historischer Beispielgebäude entwickelt. Dabei kann auf Ergebnisse früherer EU-Forschungsprojekte sowie einen breiten Erfahrungsschatz im Netzwerk der Projektpartner und assoziierter Partner zurückgegriffen werden. SHELTER wird neue Nutzungskonzepte für den historischen Baubestand aufzeigen, die die lokale Entwicklung unterstützen und sich in bestehende Vereins- und Produktionsaktivitäten einfügen. Zudem werden die Gebäude als kulturelle Landmarken in das Netz bereits vorhandener Wander- und Radwege eingebunden.

SHELTER bezieht dabei die Anwohner durch einen partizipativen Mitwirkungsprozess aktiv mit ein. Auf diese Weise wird grenzübergreifend ein Sanierungsleitfaden mit technischen Lösungen und eine Reihe von Indikatoren für die Erhaltung des kulturellen Erbes definiert. Die Ergebnisse werden im Rahmen von Workshops an die kommunalen Behörden und lokalen Unternehmen weitergegeben.